HTML Editor – Full Version

A new report from World Resources Institute that assesses how mining threatens the lands and livelihoods of Indigenous communities in the Amazon will be released on October 7. The report measures the extent of illegal and legal mining on Indigenous lands across the Amazon and finds significantly higher rates of deforestation when mining is present than on Indigenous land not affected by mining. 

Mining is growing across the Amazon basin as gold prices and demand for other minerals skyrocket. National laws commonly favor mining companies over communities, and most countries do not recognize Indigenous Peoples’ right to free, prior and informed consent. Even though there are social and environmental safeguards in place to protect Indigenous communities and their lands, enforcement remains weak and uneven. And despite growing evidence that Indigenous communities can help safeguard the planet’s forests and mitigate climate change, if their rights to land are not protected, their forests are at risk.

Compounding this, weak government oversight of mining activities can lead to violent conflicts between Indigenous communities and miners. In 2019, more environmental defenders were killed protecting their lands from mining than from any other sector. Seven of the top 10 worst-affected nations were in Latin America, where more than two-thirds of the total killings took place.

Learn more on an embargoed press call with report co-authors, experts, the former Minister of Mines of Peru and an Indigenous leader to preview the analysis and solutions on Wednesday, October 7 at 9:00 AM ET/8:00 AM PET/15:00 CEST, hosted by WRI and Burness. 

The press call will answer: How pervasive is mining on Indigenous lands across the Amazon? Is mining linked to deforestation in the Amazon? How much mining activity in the Amazon is legal vs. illegal? What can be done to protect Indigenous communities and their lands going forward? What steps should governments and companies take to radically shift their approaches to mining in the Amazon?

All information presented on the press call is strictly embargoed for Wednesday, October 7 at 11:00 AM ET/10:00 AM PET/17:00 CEST, when the report will be published on wri.org.

NOTE: Embargoed report, analysis and other materials are available upon request – email Mansie Hough at mansie.hough@wri.org.

WHAT: 
Embargoed press call on threats to Indigenous communities from mining in the Amazon

WHEN: 
Wednesday, October 7 at 9:00 AM ET / 8:00 AM PET / 15:00 CEST

WHO: 

  • Patricia Quijano Vallejos, International Legal Consultant (co-author)  
  • Peter Veit, Director, Land and Resource Rights Initiative, WRI (co-author)
  • Michael McGarrell, Human Rights Coordinator, COICA, and representative for the Amerindian People’s Association in Guyana 
  • Eleodoro Mayorga Alba, former Minister of Mines, Peru 
  • Moderator: Wanda Bautista, Senior Associate, Burness

RSVP: 
To RSVP please register here or email Mansie Hough at mansie.hough@wri.org to request embargoed materials