Special Note: WCS’s Dr. Cristián Samper and Dr. Chris Walzer both were involved with the writing of this UN report: “a blueprint to tackle the climate, biodiversity and pollution emergencies.” 

For interviews with Dr. Samper or Dr. Walzer, please contact Mary Dixon at mdixon@wcs.org (+1 347-840-1242) or Stephen Sautner at ssautner@wcs.org (+1 908-247-2585)

Ahead of the fifth United Nations Environment Assembly (UNEA-5), the UN Secretary-General, António Guterres, and the Executive Director of the UN Environment Programme (UNEP), Inger Andersen, will officially launch a new report, Making peace with Nature, during an online press briefing at 7:00pm EAT/ 11:00am EST/ 5:00pm CET on Thursday, 18 February 2021.

This new report lays out the gravity of Earth’s triple environmental emergencies – climate, biodiversity loss and pollution – through a unique synthesis of findings from major global assessments. It flags the interlinkages between our environmental and development challenges and describes the roles of all parts of society in the transformations needed for a sustainable future.

          Date: Thursday 18 February 2021,

          Time: 7pm EAT/5pm CET/ 11am EST
          Duration: 1 hour

 

Panelists:

          António Guterres, Secretary-General of the United Nations

          Inger Andersen, Executive Director, United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP)

 

To join the press conference with the option to ask questions, please send an RSVP to Ms. Florencia Soto Nino-Martinez (sotonino@un.org) by Wednesday 17 February at 5:00 pm EST and she will provide connection details. 

 

The press conference will be broadcast live at: http://webtv.un.org/

To receive the full report, press release and key messages under embargo, and to send questions ahead of the launch, please contact Ms. Keisha Rukikaire (rukikaire@un.org) and Mr. Moses Osani (moses.osani@un.org)

 

Please note: These documents are under strict embargo until 7:00pm EAT/11:00am EST/5:00pm CET on 18 February 2021 and may undergo minor changes before official publication.

 

###